The History of Inglewood House in Alloa
John Paton, founder of the firm of Patons, came to Alloa from the Easter Pitgober and set up his first woollen spinning mill on the Brathir Burn in 1814. From that small business developed a world famous brand which became a household name with mills as far afield as China and Tasmania.
From John Paton’s children grew a dynasty of Thomsons, Thomson Patons, Forrester-Patons and Procters. As the family business in which they were all involved in grew more successful, they became wealthier and their homes grander. Most of their splendid mansions have survived today including Inglewood House, Gean House and Greenfield House in Alloa. However the Patons & Baldwins Empire eventually declined and ended when Kilncraigs closed in 1999.
Completed in 1901, Inglewood house was designed by A G Sydney Mitchell & Wilson Architects offering beautiful architecture and features. This includes a two storey galleried reception hall with full height stained glass window, south facing stone balcony and large inglenook fireplaces in many of the rooms. Finished internally by the famous Glasgow Company Wylie and Lochhead, interior designers and skilled cabinet makers, who are best known for designing the interiors for Skibo Castle in the Scottish Highlands.
This stunning mansion is set in 25 acres of land and even has its own duck pond and woodland to explore.